UAM Students Attend Women Can! Event

By Merrell Miles
Staff Writer

MONTICELLO- Rebecca Nugent, University of Arkansas-Monticello’s Director of Student Programs and Activities, along with a small group of UAM students, attended Women Can! 2015 in Little Rock, Arkansas Tuesday, March 17.

The conference, which began at 9:00 a.m. and lasted until 3:15 p.m., included a vast array of speakers and sessions. The UAM group attended lectures by Kim Hodous and Anna Taylor. They also experienced lunch with a panel session from Lt. Col Erica Ingram, Dr. Robin Bowen, and Marcy Doderer. They attended breakout sessions from a variety of speakers covering such topics as money management, professional dress, women leadership roles, and interview preparation. These discussions were led by prominent women from various environments.

tv_News 10dbTaylor Norris, a senior Business Marketing major said, “I enjoyed the conference because being a business major I am aware that I am putting myself in ‘man’s corporate world’ but the conference reassured me that I can do it. The speakers had great advice for an entry level worker like myself. Hopefully I can share with anyone in need of help!”

Merrell Miles, a junior English and Modern Languages double major states, “The most important idea I heard at the conference was not how to be a successful businesswoman or politician. Those ideas would have been practically irrelevant to me. Rather, the thought that echoed through my entire being was that I must be the very best I can be, no matter what path I pursue. Tapping potential is key.”

The conference, which encouraged all women to reach their highest personal potential in the field they choose to pursue, provided practical and applicable advice for the average woman, which was relatable to any area. Successful women presented real-life experience, attempting to tap into the potential of both uprising and already established women in every industry.

Comments are closed.

  • Visits

    • 49,557 Trees Saved
  • The Morgue

