The Voice Gives Thanks

by Josh Bodiford

By Josh Bodiford

   This Thanksgiving what I am most thankful for is my family. Never living on my own and then suddenly moving 2,000 miles away has been a big adjustment. Moving has really helped me appreciate my family and where I am from so much more. My brother and his girlfriend had their second child this week and I cannot wait to meet her. My parents and both of my siblings have always been there for me when I needed them especially since I have been away. Family is very important to me and missing such big events as my niece being born is hard but I plan to make the most out of the time I have with them this holiday.

Francesca Zaragoza
Staff Writer

   This year I am thankful for my family. If I had not of grown up in a home with two wonderful, loving and Christian parents I would not be the young woman I am today. They pushed me to stay in college and to always try my best to achieve whatever I wanted. They are two of the most caring people I know. I am also thankful for my older sister. She has been my biggest role model all of my life. She is a wonderful wife, teacher and woman of God. She has been my best friend for as long as I can remember and I will forever look up to her. I am blessed to have the family that I do.

Brooke Rutledge
Staff Writer

   This year I’m thankful for all the opportunities I’ve had to play volleyball. I’ve been very blessed to play for so long. I’m also thankful for my family, especially my parents. They do so much for me and have been my biggest supporters from the beginning. Lastly I’m thankful for my boyfriend, he’s always pushing me to be better than I already I am and has been a huge support to me.

Victoria Bozzo
Staff Writer

   This year, like every year, I am thankful for my family, friends and health. I’m thankful to be around to see another Thanksgiving with my family because a lot of people won’t.  I’m thankful that my sister is here for me everyday of the year and that she is home from basic training. I’m thankful that I have friends who look out for me. But over all, I’m thankful just to have another year to be thankful.

Jimekia Lambert
Staff Writer

   Although I am thankful for many things, these are the things I am most thankful for. I am most thankful for Jesus dying on the cross for our sins. Secondly for my family and the support they provide! Lots of my family has military background, and I am thankful for all the troops to help keep this nation safe.

Shane Bostian
Staff Writer

   I’m thankful for the ability to wake up in the mornings and experience God’s green Earth! I’m thankful for my loving parents and grandparents who have raised me into the person I am today. I’m thankful for the many opportunities that life has offered me through the years. I’m thankful I have the opportunity to receive an education at the University of Arkansas at Monticello. Just being able to attend a college is a great blessing to me. It’s not about how much money I have or who I am, it’s the people and opportunities life brings me that I am thankful for!

Dylan Fowler
Staff Writer

   This year, I  am thankful for many things. First, for God. After some of the hardest times in my life, I’ve found that God preforms miracles daily and he gives the message to the preacher because he preaches right at me quite often. I’ve grown closer to God this semester, from trials to triumphs.

   Next, I’m thankful for the amazing family God has blessed me with. I could not have picked a better family if I tried. I’ve got my wonderful husband, who was willing to support our family while I went back to school. He will never know how grateful I am for that! I have a beautiful daughter and handsome son who mean the world to me. They are the best kids and I love them with every ounce of my existence. They can brighten up any day for me. They make my heart smile. My mom and dad have always supported me, no matter how little they agreed with what I wanted to do. I’ve got big brothers who have always had my back, offering many times to “take care of” the guys who broke my heart in high school. Because of my brothers getting married, I finally have sisters. I always wanted a sister growing up. Amanda is more a sister to me than a sister-in-law and I hope she knows how much I love her.  I have some pretty awesome in-laws. They have been too good to me over the years. I have 15 nieces and nephews, who are all special to me. They were my first babies. I have wonderful grandparents who have also supported my goals and dreams, and my poppa encouraged me to continue my education and possibly become a teacher like he was. And on top of all of them, I have some of the best aunts, uncles, cousins, and church family a girl could ask for.

   I am thankful for all the people who told me I would never graduate college after the birth of my daughter. They have encouraged me to continue my education and to finish my degree. Thankfully, I will get my degree at the end of this semester.

   Finally, I am thankful for the experience to work on The Voice. This last year and a half have been very eye opening. I’m thankful for Dr. Sitton who had faith in me when I didn’t have faith in myself to write for and edit The Voice. And also to Mr. Milstead, for also having faith in me this semester to continue my work on The Voice.

Jennifer Lawrence
Senior Editor

   This year I have seen a great deal of change in my life, all of which I am very thankful for as it has brought me where I am today. First, I am thankful for my family that the Lord has blessed me with. They show me great support and have helped make me into the person I am today. Next, I am thankful for my wonderful girlfriend who is simply one of the most amazing people I’ve ever had the pleasure of knowing. She helps keep me grounded and helps me see things in different perspectives. I am so thankful for a wonderful group of friends who support me and are always there for me. I am thankful for a chance to go to college and further my education. I am thankful for all the people who make this possible. I’m very grateful for the men and women in the U.S. armed forces who protect our freedoms everyday. These and many other things are what I am thankful for, and I hope that you are able to find many blessing in your own lives and have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

Clint Blasengame
Senior Editor

   First, I am thankful for God watching over me and my loved ones. I am thankful to wake up each morning. I am thankful for my three kids, my fiance’, my sister, my daddy, and my step-mom. I am also thankful for having the necessities in life, and some of my wants. I am thankful for having my cats, and stray dogs. And lastly, because I am somewhat of a hippie, I am thankful for the sun, flowers, birds, stars, and other beautiful things in life.

Susan Harmon
Senior Editor

   I am thankful for a number of things this holiday season. Mainly, I am thankful for my wonderful wife and extraordinary son. I am truly blessed to have my wife of thirteen years by my side and to have recently celebrated a first birthday with a child we waited for a decade to have. I’m thankful to be at a university that places higher learning at a premium for a student body that may not be able to get one otherwise. I’m thankful to work with a group of bright young men and women in a debate and forensics program that has nearly fifty years of history. I’m very thankful to have the honor and ability to teach and mold young minds. Most importantly, I’m thankful to have a loving and forgiving God that continues to bless me much more than I deserve.

Keith Milstead
Faculty Advisor

Comments are closed.

  • Visits

    • 51,375 Trees Saved
  • The Morgue

