MBSF Gets Involved With Campus And Community

tv_Around Campus 10dbBy Ryan Hill
Staff Writer

Monticello– The Mission Baptist Student Fellowship, also known as Alpha Omega, is a widely known organization at the University of Arkansas at Monticello and in the Monticello community.

   MBSF hosts Renown, a Bible Study and worship service held every Thursday evening at 9 p.m.  MBSF is involved with “A Day Without Shoes”, 40 hour fast, crawfish boil and 27 hour stand, which is the “End it Movement” on slavery.

   As for community involvement, the MBSF students volunteer at Vera Lloyd Presbyterian Home and The Centers for Youth and Families.  The MBSF is also involved with the “I Heart Monticello” and assist Pauline Missionary Baptist Church with projects. The MBSF tries to meet any need brought to their attention.

   “A youth Pastor, Jack Cross, told me about MBSF and introduced me to Rob on the day of the crawfish boil,” stated Mitchell Butler, a UAM student, when asked how he got involved with the MBSF.

   Jessica Noble, a UAM student, also said how she got involved with the MBSF. “When I was in high school at Star City, I attended Southside MBC and we were a supporting church of the MBSF. I remember when I was in eleventh grade some students from UAM and Rob Leonard came to put on the service and to visit and thank us.  Afterwards we were able to hang out with the students. That’s the night I heard of the MBSF.  Then my senior year, my dad actually let me come down on Thursday nights to MBSF. So I was able to be involved before attending college.”

   “Yes, Lord, walking in the way of your laws, we wait for you; your name and renown are the desire of our hearts.” Isaiah 26:8

Comments are closed.

  • Visits

    • 50,047 Trees Saved
  • The Morgue

