Hornaday Outstanding Faculty Award Nominations

Courtesy of
Jack Lassiter

MONTICELLO-Dr. Marsha Clayton, during her term as Chair of the UAM Assembly,  appointed a special committee that developed and presented to the Executive Council atv_Around Campus 10db method for annually selecting an outstanding Faculty member.  After consideration by the Executive Council the procedure was approved and implemented in the 2012 Academic year. Provost David Ray was the first recipient selected.

   The University of Arkansas at Monticello Outstanding Faculty Award was named the Hornaday Outstanding Faculty Award in 2010 to honor Dan and Charlotte Hornaday, who generously provided a donation to the University that established  a perpetual endowment to be used exclusively for the recognition of exemplary faculty.  Earnings from the investment of the endowed principal are used annually to provide a medallion and monetary award to the recipient.  Each finalist for the award shall receive a certificate.

   A nomination and a selection committee for 2013  have been appointed in accord with the operating procedure.  It is now time for individuals to be nominated for the 2013 award. Nominations for the award will be accepted from faculty, administration, staff, students and alumni.  The nominator should determine that the nominee agrees to be nominated,  prior to submitting the nomination form.   A nomination requires the submission of a nomination statement, the nominator’s name and signature and must be submitted in writing to the Chancellor’s Office by no later than Friday, Feb. 15.  Self-nominations and anonymous nominations are not permitted.

   The nomination committee will submit no more than four names to the Provost and Chancellor for potential recipients of the Award by the Wednesday, March 13.  The selection committee will select the recipient of the Award from the four nominees no later than Friday, April 12.  The Selection Committee will forward the name of the recipient to the Chancellor and Provost immediately after final selection.

   For your consideration when making a nomination, the Hornaday Outstanding Faculty Award recognizes an individual who demonstrates excellence in the areas of teaching, research/scholarship and service. Normally only accomplishments completed while the individual was a UAM employee will be considered.

   The Hornaday Outstanding Faculty Award consists of a $1250 cash gift and a medallion commemorating the year of the award.  The award will be conferred to one faculty member annually at Spring Commencement Exercises.  An individual may receive the award more than once, provided a period of three years separates the awards and each subsequent award is based on achievements other than those recognized by an earlier award.

   Please contact any member of the Executive Council if you should have questions.  I look forward to receiving your nominations no later than Feb. 15.


Comments are closed.

  • Visits

    • 53,854 Trees Saved
  • The Morgue

%d bloggers like this: