Resolutions

Jennifer Lawrence
Staff Writer

tv_oped   New Year’s resolutions. Those three words are very frustrating. Everyone wants to know your resolutions. Then, you fail. Everyone knows you failed. Ugh!

   Forty-five percent of Americans usually make New Year’s resolutions, but only 64 percent of those make it past the first month. According to WebMD, the very act of making a resolution improves your odds of success, along with making a plan and having realistic expectations.

   This year, rather than making resolutions, I chose to make goals. I decided that making a goal would give me a better chance of success. Rather than say I’m going to lose weight, I set smaller realistic goals.

   Some people may think that a resolution and a goal are the same thing, but they are not. By calling it a resolution, I am setting myself up for failure. By calling it a goal, and breaking it down in smaller, attainable sections, I am actually encouraging myself to succeed.  When people reach goals, many reward themselves. I read a good quote on a website about weight loss the other day. It said, “Don’t reward yourself with food, you are not a dog.”

   This is a valid point. Many would-be dieters reward themselves with food after they achieve small success. This is detrimental to their over-all goal. I am guilty of this myself. I go on a diet, and I use that phrase loosely, eat like I should for a day or two, and then I order a pizza or hit up the Chinese buffet. This completely goes against what I have worked so hard to accomplish for the two days before.

   This time around, I am not on a diet per-say, but rather trying to be healthier in general. I am not limiting myself to “diet foods”, but cutting down on portion sizes and increasing my physical activity. It is more a life-style change than a diet.

   To the 45 percent of you who have made resolutions, keep up the good work. I will see just over half of you at the other end.

Comments are closed.

  • Visits

    • 49,836 Trees Saved
  • The Morgue

